Annual trip to NE Victoria for Christmas – Days 11 & 12

Wednesday 27 December 2023

Yet another hot day was forecast. I considered my options and headed to another new Park to the SW of Wodonga. I headed west towards Barnawartha, then south on Indigo Creek Road to reach the target Park, just north of the junction with Watchbox Road.

Indigo Creek Streamside Reserve VKFF-3728 Not previously activated

MapshareVic shows that parts of this reserve are licensed – primarily the sections immediately adjacent to the creek. There is a section about 200 m north of the road junction mentioned where the wide portion of the reserve is not licensed and shown as under Direct Management.

Google Earth view of boundary and MapshareVic image of Reserve.

There was an unlocked gate about 200 m north of the road junction, so I opened the gate and drove into the Reserve and parked. I soon had two lines over tree branches, one for the doublet and one for a 15 m vertical. I set up the gear on the tailgate.

The station on the tailgate at VKFF-3728.

I started on 40 m SSB, with two Park to Park (P2P) contacts: Chris VK1CHW in VKFF-3182, followed by Peter VK3TKK in VKFF-4279 as the first caller when I moved to a clear frequency. Over the next 20 minutes I made 20 contacts. I briefly jumped down to 40 m CW to work VK3TKK for a P2P on CW before returning to SSB. The next 20 minutes produced another 15 contacts, including some repeats on the new UTC day.

I then tried CW on some of the higher bands, working Steve KG5CIK and Jess W6LEN on 15 m and 10 m. I jumped back to 40 m SSB to again work VK3TKK, now in VKFF-4280. I returned to CW mode on higher bands, again working Jess and Steve on 24 m, 17 m and 20 m. Back to 40 m SSB to work VK1CHW, now in VKFF-0851. As I finished working Chris, a large truck pulled up at the side of the road. The driver jumped out and entered through the gate, so I walked around the vehicle to greet him. After introductions, I found that he was the landowner of the property on the eastern side of the creek and the licence holder of part of the Reserve. I explained what I was doing and he was happy, agreeing with my assessment that I was located in a publicly accessible portion of the Reserve. We chatted for a while before he departed.

I resumed radio activity by chasing Peter VK3TKK on 40 m CW, now in VKFF-4278. I moved to a clear frequency for 40 m CW and made another seven contacts.

Back to 40 m SSB for a final run, making 19 contacts in the next 17 minutes, including Rhian VK2FRBQ in VK-1711. With a total of 78 contacts in the log, I decided to close down and pack up.

I then headed north to Barnawartha.

Frying Pan Creek Streamside Reserve VKFF-3692 Not previously activated

The northern part of this Reserve is licensed. The remainder appears to be under “Delegated management”. I drove around to the western end of Short Street and drove towards Frying Pan Creek. The road swings right to pass under the rail line – low clearance! There was a gate just as the road swung south, next to which I stopped. On the other side of the gate was a sign indicating the Reserve. The gate was not locked, so I opened it and drove in to park.

Google Earth view of boundary and MapshareVic image of Reserve.

I found a spot near a suitable tree branch and soon had the doublet in the air. The gear was again set up on the tailgate.

The sign inside the gate at VKFF-3692.

The activation started with two P2P contacts: Chris VK1CHW in VKFF-1775 and Peter VK3TKK in VKFF-4293. I moved to a clear frequency and spotted. I worked 30 stations in only 15 minutes! I then jumped to 40 m CW to work Ian VK5CZ in VKFF-4055. I then tried 17 m CW, making five contacts. I jumped back to 40 m SSB for another P2P with Peter VK3TKK, now in VKFF-4292. Next was 20 m CW for a SOTA contact with Isam VK2/JH0WMN on VK2/SY-001. I next tried CW on some higher bands, working Tada JA1VVH on both 12 m and 10 m. A spot induced another jump back to 40 m SSB to again work VK3TKK, now inVKFF-4291. I then tried 20 m CW, working Steve KG5CIK. Another spot induced a change to 20 m SSB, to again work Ian VK5CZ in VKFF-4055. I next tried 30 m CW, making three contacts. Another spot caused a jump to 20 m CW to again work VK5CZ in VKFF-4055. I then moved to 40 m CW, making six contacts. I then returned to 40 m SSB, making another 14 contacts, plus two more on CW. With 71 in the log, I closed down and packed up. I then returned to Wodonga.

Thursday 28 December 2023

The morning started with some domestic duties, undertaking some tasks for Mum. When I returned to base, I grabbed the last couple of items and headed off. When I was about half way to my destination, I remembered that I had forgetten to pick up the big battery, left on charge in the garage. I would need to rely on the two small batteries….

I drove to the area previously identified as a possible operating site, but found that there were few trees suitable to support the antenna and provide some shade. I drove a few hundred metres back and found a spot to park off a track leading to private property on the far side of the creek. There was a white letterbox on the side of the road (# 877). I pulled off the track and parked and soon had the doublet in the air. Note that there was a Private Property sign on the Reserve side of the bridge across the Creek.

Barwidgee Creek Streamside Reserve VKFF-3589 Not previously activated

Looking at the station from the bridge over the creek.

I again set up on the tailgate. On switching on, I could hear Marty VK4KC in VK-7162 on 7.144 MHz. I waited for a chance and called. Signals were weak but workable. I soon had eight contacts in the log: four callsigns from Marty and two each from Richard VK2OKR/4 and Mark VK4TI. Next was Deryck VK4FDJL in VKFF-0677. When I returned to listen briefly on 7.144 MHz, I heard Marty announce that he was moving to 15 m SSB. After a short wait, I started calling CQ. Less than 20 minutes after switching on, I had 26 contacts in the log. I moved to 40 m CW, working 10 stations in 20 minutes. I then started exploring higher bands, spotting myself and calling CQ for around 10 minutes before change band or mode. I had two contacts on 10 m SSB, but none on CW. I moved back to 40 m SSB to work Peter VK3TKK in VKFF-3746. Then 20 m SSB to work John ZL3MR and Nick ZL3NLA, both on ZL3/CB-419 in ZLFF-0022. 17 m CW produced one contact before I returned to 40 m CW to gain work Peter VK3TKK. I returned to 17 m without success, and nothing was heard on 12 m. I had no callers on 20 m SSB or CW. 30 m SSB yielded a single contact, followed by four contacts on CW. I next returned to 40 m CW, making three contacts. I finally moved to 40 m SSB, making 15 contacts over the next 11 minutes.

I was about to close down when a spot came through for Wade VK1MIC on VK2/ST-039. I moved down but heard nothing. On checking SOTAwatch, he had just spotted on 20 m SSB. Again, nothing heard. I tried to send a message via SOTAwatch that he needed to allow at least five minutes for the Spot to propagate from SOTAwatch to ParksnPeaks. While I was doing that, he had jumped back to 40 m, then jumped back to 20 m only a few minutes later. Nothing was heard of him. Fred VK3DAC also said that he had not heard Wade on 40 m. A few minutes later, Wade spotted that he was going QRT with no contacts. I hope that he sorts out whatever problem that he had prior to heading out again.

Looking upstream from the bridge over Barwidgee Creek.

I had been on air for 2.5 hours, so closed down and packed up. I had 66 contacts logged. I then headed back to Wodonga via Stanley and Beechworth, taking the scenic drive as the afternoon warmed up.

This entry was posted in WWFF and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment