Annual trip to NE Victoria for Christmas – Day 10

26 December 2023

Another hot day was forecast. I was a little late departing Wodonga, but had a smooth drive out to the Reserve. I parked the vehicle off the road close to the stile, located west of the high point of the road, with the main Reserve sign clearly visible up the hill from the stile. The hand rail of the stile was very rickety!

Mount Ochtertyre Scenic Reserve VKFF-3790

I had activated this Park back in October, but had only made 26 contacts before the arrival of rain caused me to close and rapidly pack the station. I therefore needed another 18 contacts to qualify the Park for WWFF.

I lifted the gear over the fence and then climbed over. I walked up the hill to beyond the sign to a spot where I found a tree suitable to toss a line over a branch. I soon had the antenna in the air and set up the station under some shade. Anticipating that I would soon lose the shade, I erected a fly sheet. I had carted the IC-7300 and the large 100 Ah battery to the operating site.

Looking up the hill towards the operating site (at the chair) in VKFF-3790.

I started on 40 m SSB, making 15 contacts in 15 minutes. With no further callers, I moved to 20 m CW. Here I made six contacts fairly quickly. I then tried 17 m CW, making one contact. I returned to 20 m CW before UTC midnight, making one more contact before the new day. I made another contact after UTC midnight, but with no further calls for a couple minutes, I moved to 30 m CW. Here I made three contacts. Next was 40 m CW, where I made 12 contacts. I then returned to 40 m SSB, making another 26 contacts over the next 20 minutes. With a total of 66 contacts in the log, I closed down and packed up.

I soon had the gear back at the fence, climbed over and packed the gear into the car. I drove back to the east and then headed north on Mia Mia Road to the junction with Gooramadda Road. The next target Park was on the north side of Gooramadda Road.

Murray River K15 Streamside Reserve VKFF-3804 Not previously activated

The Reserve is about 660 m long and only about 50 m wide, running between the road reserve of Gooramadda Road and Bobarado or Wild Duck Lagoon. Whilst investigating the Park prior to this visit, using Streetview on Google Maps, I had noticed a gate just to the east of the junction of Mia Mia Road. I drove to close to the gate and parked.

I found that the gate was locked and assessed the terrain nearby. There was some very tall grass and a sudden drop off down towards the lagoon. I saw a relatively clear area under a large river red gum about half way between the fence and the lagoon. I moved the gear to beside the fence and then climbed the gate and moved the gear down to the cleared area. I soon had a line over a branch of the tree and set up the station, again using the IC-7300.

The station at VKFF-3804, with a fly sheet hurriedly pulled over the gear to protect it from some drizzle.

I once again started on 40 m SSB, only 30 minutes after my last contact at the previous Park. Contacts were quickly made, with 11 contacts in 10 minutes. After a pause in responses of a couple of minutes, a very loud VK2EXA called. Greg is located only just over 4 km form my location. I then made a series of contacts with Greg on different modes and bands – from 80 m through to 6 m, followed by 160 m SSB. I then returned to 40 m SSB, making a further six contacts. Next was 17 m CW, providing four contacts. 20 m CW yielded three contacts. Next was 40 m CW, where I worked another seven contacts. I finished off on 40 m SSB, making another seven contacts before I closed down, with a total of 63 contacts.

I packed up the gear and lugged it up the slope to the gate, then moved it into the car.

I headed southeast on Gooramadda Road, but just less than 2.7 km.

Murray River K16 Streamside Reserve VKFF-3805 Not previously activated

This was another Park which required some care before attempting an activation. MapshareVic shows that most of the Reserve is under “Delegated Management”, with a small section near the road as “Direct Management”. Having studied the boundaries with online mapping tools, I thought it best to speak to one of the neighbours before attempting access. As I approached the gate of the property on the western side of the Reserve, I noticed that the gate was open. I drove in and parked the car. I walked to the door and rang the doorbell. I introduced myself and explained what I was about, asking about the Reserve. The gentleman believed that the section of the Reserve shown as “Direct Management” was actually leased by his neighbour. I explained about the WWFF Award scheme and asked if it possible for me to drive down his paddocks to find a spot inside the boundary to set up the station and “play radio” for an hour or so? Permission was given. I headed down the track and found a spot on the bank of the billabong, just inside the park boundary. I set up with a line of a tree branch to raise the antenna.

The view along the billabong from the operating site at VKFF-3805.

Once again, I started on 40 m SSB. I worked 34 stations in 30 minutes. When there were no further callers, I moved to 17 m CW, making five contacts. 20 m CW produced only a single contact, as did 30 m CW. Next was 40 m CW, where I made seven contacts. I returned to 40 m SSB, making another eight contacts before there were no further callers. With 56 contacts in the log, I closed down and packed up.

I made my way back towards the road, spotting the property owner in a truck near the house. I stopped and he asked how I had fared. I advised of the total number of contacts, explaining that I had worked stations across SE Australia, plus US and Japan. He congratulated me. I thanked him again for the permission to enter his property. He expressed that he would be likely to grant permission in the future to any Activator making a civil approach for permission to access the Reserve. I again gave my thanks and headed off to return to Wodonga.

Thanks to all who called me during the day.

This entry was posted in WWFF and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment