Annual trip to NE Victoria for Christmas – Day 17

2 January 2024

The weather forecast was for another hot day, with thunderstorms likely in the afternoon. I decided to attempt another Park which had not yet been activated. I had spent some time exploring this new reference from the roads over a week earlier, on my return trip from a park beside the Mitta Mitta River.

It is clear from MapshareVic that the Reserve is under a licence. The problem is that the possible licensee is difficult to determine. Having spent some time exploring the satellite imagery, I had dropped into a farm house to the north of the reserve and found someone home. I had a discussion with the gentleman. He showed me the access route which I had been considering and also gave me the telephone number for the licensee. As it was relatively late in the afternoon that day, I decided to leave an approach for permission to a later date.

Before I left Wodonga, I called the licensee and explained my request. The gentleman was receptive to my approach, but explained that he was some distance away at present and all the gates were locked. I explained about a small section of the reserve at the eastern end where a track came into the reserve boundary from the north, noting that I could fulfill my requirements (to have my station entirely within the boundary), if he was happy with me entering and setting up at that site. Permission was granted.

After I had undertaken some tasks in the morning, I headed off after lunch, travelling along the Murray Valley Highway through Bonegilla and out to Red Bluff, then turning south onto Hibbertson Road. At the end of the road, I opened the gate which allows access to Sandy Creek to extract water and crossed the creek. I carefully drove up the track up the south bank and parked the vehicle to the west of the track, just east of the farm fence but inside the reserve boundary.

The approximate operating site in VKFF-3852, marked with the X. The pink area is the road reserve for Hibbertson Road, used for the approach. Image from MapshareVic, using the Public Land overlay.

Sandy Creek Red Bluff Streamside Reserve VKFF-3852 Not previously activated

I set up using my drive-on mast stand under one of the wheels, lashing a squid pole to the stand. I soon had the ZS6BKW doublet in the air, tying the end lines off to fence posts. I also set up a fly sheet at the rear of the vehicle to give me some shade, and in case any rain fell. I set up the radio gear on the vehicle tailgate.

I followed my usual procedure, starting on 40 m SSB. I worked 31 stations in 22 minutes. I next tried 15 m, working two stations on SSB and one on CW. The resident to the south walked down whilst the CW contact was underway. I asked him to please wait while I completed the contact. I then sent QRX and walked over to the fence line and explained what was going on. We chatted for some time before he departed. Back on air, I worked Jess W6LEN on 12 and 17 m CW before moving to 20 m CW. Here I worked four stations. Next, I tried 30 m CW, making another six contacts. 40 m CW followed, yielding 11 contacts. I returned to 40 m SSB and worked another 14 contacts, including Park to Park contacts with Ray VK2HJW/p in VKFF-0375 and Richard VK2OKR in VK-6944. With 71 contacts in the log, I closed down and packed up. I headed back out to Hibbertson Road, making sure that I closed the gate behind me. I then headed back to Wodonga.

Thanks to all who called.

This entry was posted in Amateur Radio, WWFF and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment