Annual trip to NE Victoria for Christmas – Day 15

Sunday 31 December 2023

The forecast was for another fine and very warm day in NE Victoria. I decided to head east towards Corryong. There are several WWFF References in the area – too many to bag in a single day. During the drive out, I considered my options. I decided to start with a park just off the main road at Colac Colac (pronounced “Clack Clack” by locals), and then to move back towards Wodonga.

Corryong Creek K33 Streamside Reserve VKFF-3656 Not previously activated

Most of this reserve shows on MapshareVic as being under “delegated management”. Examination of the boundary file on Google Earth reveals that much of the reserve appears to be farmed, with a small portion occupied by a caravan park. There is a small portion on the southern side of the Murray Valley Highway, but there is a power line running beside the road. North of the Highway and just east of the Corryong Creek crossing there is a Rest Area, with a small portion of the Reserve in the NE corner of the Rest Area. There is about 380 square metres of overlap, providing enough space to erect a station and have the doublet inside the park boundary.

The section of the Park boundary overlapping the Rest Area. Image thanks to Google Earth.

I set up the antenna by strapping a squid pole to a fence post and then strung out the doublet along the fence line. I parked the car a little south of the fence and set up the station on the tailgate.

The activation started with me hunting Richard VK2OKR in VKFF-1410 on 40 m SSB. I moved down to find a clear frequency and spotted. Within 15 minutes, I had 30 contacts in the log, including Peter VK3TKK in VKFF-3849. I then tried 10 m CW for 10 minutes, working only Jess W6LEN. I then jumped to 40 m CW to again work Peter VK3TKK in VKFF-3849. Next, I tried 12 m CW, again working only Jess. 15 m CW produced four contacts, including Jess and Tom KG8P. It was now the new UTC Day and I moved to 15 m SSB, working two stations. I then moved to 40 m SSB to work Emile VK5WWW on VK5/NE-085 in VKFF-3189. A short session on 12 m CW produced four contacts. 20 m CW yielded six contacts, including John VK5HAA on VK5/NE-085 in VKFF-3189. I next moved to 20 m SSB, working five stations, including John VK5HAA on VK5/NE-085 in VKFF-3189. Ten minutes on 30 m CW yielded three contacts. I then jumped to 40 m SSB to hunt Peter VK3TKK, now in VKFF-3731. I also worked Peter on CW. I moved down the band and spotted on CW, working nine stations in 10 minutes. I moved back to 40 m SSB, making another 22 contacts, finishing with Alan VK3XE on VK3/VE-073. With 91 contacts in the log, I closed down and packed up.

By time I was ready to roll, it was after 1300 local time. I decided to head west, back towards Wodonga. I then took the turn off for Lucyvale. One reaches the start of the next Park just under four km south along Lucyvale Road.

Cudgewa Creek Streamside Reserve VKFF-3660 Not previously activated

The boundary file reveals that the Lucyvale Road is inside the reserve boundary. I was driving south and keeping an eye on both sides of the road and spotted a sign near a gate on the right. I stopped to look and found a sign indicating a free camping area. A grassy track descended down towards the creek. I opened the gate and drove in, then continued a short way after closing the gate. I swung to the right to be off the track. I found a spot to park and soon had a line over a branch about 18 m up, so the doublet was at the maximum height allowed by the feedline, with room to go higher if I had more feedline to connect. I again set up on the tailgate.

The boundary of VKFF-3660. Image thanks to Google Earth.

The activation started with a Park to Park contact on 40 m CW, with Peter VK3TKK in VKFF-3671. I moved to 40 m SSB and spotted. I worked 37 contacts in the next 25 minutes, including Peter VK3TKK in VKFF-3587 on SSB and CW. I next spent 20 minutes on 10 m CW, working only Jess W6LEN. Another 20 minutes of calling on 15 m CW yielded only one contact from VK6NU. I next jumped back to 40 m SSB to hunt David VK3TUN on VK3/VS-003 in VKFF-0766. 10 minutes of calling on 20 m SSB yielded only two contacts. I then jumped back to 40 m SSB to hunt Marija VK5MAZ/p and Paul using VI10VKFF in VKFF-0826. 15 minutes of calling on 20 m CW produced a contact with John VK6NU. I then moved to 40 m CW, which yielded 16 contacts, including Peter VK3TKK in VKFF-3634. I moved to 40 m SSB to hunt Emile VK5WWW on VK5/SE-004, followed by Peter VK3TKK in VKFF-3634. I moved to a clear frequency and worked another eight stations. I finished the activation by working John VK5HAA on VK5/SE-004 on 40 m CW. I had 73 in the log.

I packed up and head back to the highway and then again headed west. As I approached Bullioh, I decided to try one more Park, despite being later in the afternoon. Just over 24 km south along Tallangatta Creek Road you can find the next target Park.

Tallangatta Creek K11 Streamside Reserve VKFF-3875 Not previously activated

The Reserve is shown on Google Maps and Earth as Tallangatta Creek KI Streamside Reserve. It is easy to find and entry is via a typical farm gate with a please close the gate sign. I found several groups camped close to the creek. I found a spot to park away from the campers, with a reasonable tree branch nearby. I soon had the doublet in the air and the station set up on the tailgate.

I spotted on 40 m SSB and was fairly busy for the next 20 minutes, working 37 contacts. These included P2P with Marija VK5MAZ/p and Paul using VI10VKFF in VKFF-0916. I then moved to 40 m CW, making 15 contacts in just over 20 minutes. I returned to 40 m SSB for any further calls, making another five contacts. I closed with 51 contacts logged.

I packed up and headed back to Wodonga for the night.

Thanks to all who called.

This entry was posted in WWFF and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment