A multi-Park trip to Renmark for the 2023 VKFF National Get Together – Day 9

Monday 30 October

The day was going to be a long one. I had almost 900 km to travel in the day – I wanted to be home by Monday night, as I had an appointment on Tuesday morning.

I woke reasonably early and was soon packed and out of my hotel room. I headed towards Mildura and then simply followed the signs for Melbourne as I negotiated my way through the Mildura morning traffic and School Zones. I stopped at the bakery in Red Cliffs to grab something for breakfast. I continued south to the Carwarp Silo, then east on Brownport Road for just over one kilometre to turn left into the first Park for the day.

Carwarp West I12 Bushland Reserve VKFF-4143

I had activated this Park on the previous Wednesday, but only managed 13 contacts from the mobile station. I suspect that the confusion about reference numbers contributed to the low number of callers, after an incorrect spot was posted and then respotted when doing a nearby reference earlier in the day. The confusion was compounded by the lower signal levels due to me running with the mobile whip antenna. I therefore need at least 31 contacts to bring this Park up to the qualification level of 44 contacts for WWFF.

I set up the doublet in the normal manner – a line over a tree branch. I soon had the IC-7300 set up on the front passenger seat and operated from inside the vehicle. The activation started by hunting Bob VK2BYF and Col VK2GOM in VKFF-1141 on 40 m SSB. I moved up the band and spotted, soon working David VK5DG in VKFF-0823 and Tony VK3YV in VKFF-0231. I heard Tony work David, which meant that David now had a contact with Tony’s Park for the KRMNPA, thereby saving me from stopping in that Park to give David a contact. I resumed calling and had a total of 19 contacts logged on 40 m SSB in about 36 minutes. I moved to 10 m CW, where I worked Jess W6LEN, Steve KG5CIK and Tada JA1VVH. I then jumped back to 40 m SSB to hunt Gerard VK2IO/p in VKFF-0372 and VK-PRG5, together with Malcolm VK3OAK and Peter VK3PWG, also in VKFF-0372. I next tried 30 m SSB, working Tony VK3YV in VKFF-0231 and three further contacts. I next tried 40 m CW, making two contacts before a new spot came through. Back to 40 m SSB to work Paul VI10VKFF, Marija VK5MAZ and Hans VK6XN, all in VKFF-4127. I returned to 40 m CW and made two more contacts before another Spot took me back up the band to hunt Tony VK3YV on AM, plus three other contacts on that mode. Next, I moved to 20 m CW, making nine contacts. With 51 contacts in the log, I closed down and packed up.

I drove back to the highway and headed south for about 9 km to turn left onto an unnamed track into the next Park.

Boonoonar Bushland Reserve VKFF-4146 Not previously activated (NPA)

The boundary file shows this Park as a series of rectangles with gaps in between, so one needs to be sure that one sets up at a location where the station and antenna are entirely within one of the Reserve areas. Having checked that my location fulfilled the requirements, I soon had the doublet in the air and hooked up to the radio in the car.

The boundaries of Boonoonar Bushland Reserve with the operating site. Image thanks to Google Earth.

The first contacts were with Paul VI10VKFF, Marija VK5MAZ and Hans VK6XN, all in VKFF-4127. I moved up the band and hunted Malcolm VK3OAK and Peter VK3PWG in VKFF-0372. Next it was back down the band a little to hunt David VK5DG in VKFF-2383. I then moved down to a clear frequency and spotted. In the next 25 minutes, I worked 28 contacts, including Peter VK3ZPF in VKFF-0623 and VK1AO in VKFF-0850. I moved to 30 m SSB to hunt Ian VK1DI/3 in VKFF-0231, followed by a move back to 40 m SSB to hunt Bob VK2BYF and Col VK2GOM in VKFF-1156. Another spot came through, so I jumped to 40 m CW to hunt VK1AO in VKFF-0850. The next band slot was 20 m CW, where I made five contacts, followed by another five contacts on 17 m CW. Fresh spots took me back to 40 m SSB to work Gerard VK2IO/p in VKFF-0823, followed by Paul VI10VKFF, Marija VK5MAZ and Hans VK6XN, all in VKFF-4122 and VK-WRU3. I moved to a clear frequency for a few more contacts before jumping back to 17 m CW to work Jess W6LEN. I closed down, with 62 contacts in the log. I packed up and headed back onto the Highway and headed south.

I stopped in Ouyen at the Bakery to grab a late lunch, then resumed the trip south. I stopped briefly a few times to hunt others out activating Parks, when I heard them on air or noticed a spot on the phone.

I also had ABC local radio running whilst driving, hearing the weather warnings coming through for weather south of the Great Dividing Range. I decided against any further activations and continued the drive. I drove north of Melbourne, thus avoiding the traffic and tolls, and finally headed south to hit the Princes Highway at Pakenham. I finally arrived home at 2200 local time.

Summary

Over the nine days of the trip, I made a total of 1823 contacts from within Parks. I activated 9 Silos and 33 Park references from 34 activations.

Thanks to all who called. Special thanks to all who activated Parks during the trip. Of course, extra special thanks go to the VKFF administration team members for their ongoing work to support the WWFF program in Australia. Finally, thanks to Paul, Marija and team for organising the VKFF National Get Together – it was a terrific event. I look forward to the next event in Bendigo in October 2024.

This entry was posted in WWFF and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment