Jarvis Creek Plateau VK3/VE-208

27 December 2014

The Alerts page indicated that Andrew VK3BQ/2 was planning a Snowy Mountains activation. I had no family commitments, so decided to head out after a late start. I decided to attempt to get to Mount Talgarno VK3/VE-215. The SOTA database shows this as Mt Talgamo – clearly a misreading of the text on the maps. I have seen other examples of this error – r followed by n being read as m.

I approached via Talgarno Gap Road, Martins Road and Flagstaff Road – all without issue. Until you reach a gate within sight of the summit trig with signs indicating Private Property, No Trespassers, Shooters Prosecuted……. Time for an alternate destination, as time was running out to be on a summit in time to catch Andrew. I decided to head to Jarvis Creek Plateau, which is in State Forest.

Jarvis Creek Plateau VK3/VE-208 694 m 2 points

I approached via Georges Creek Road and Plateau Road, parking short of the junction of Plateau Road and Kirks Track. A quick assessment of the electronic maps and an old 1:25000 map indicate that the summit location may be out by around 740 m, but I have not checked on Google Earth. There are two knolls near the junction of Plateau Road and Kirks Track that are around 700 m altitude, potentially making the correct location a 4 point summit. All three high points appear to possibly be within the same activation zone. I walked into the knoll indicated by SOTA mapping and set up.

On switching on the radio, I heard Kerry VK7PAK/p on VK7/NE-001 and managed to work him for a S2S. I readjusted the dipole and had a drink prior to starting to look for contacts. Next in the log was the intended target – Andrew VK3/BQ/2 on VK2/SM-007 for a second S2S, followed by Nick VK3ANL/p in Churchill National Park. I worked a total of 18 stations. This activation completed the summit for me. I packed up and headed back to the car, then back down to Georges Creek Road, and then to the Murray Valley Highway (B400), then back to Wodonga.

This entry was posted in SOTA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

